Welcome to the UXBookClub Austin

Tori Breitling, coordinator

On twitter? Follow @atxuxbookclub or visit http://twitter.com/atxuxbookclub for updates

Also, please join: http://groups.google.com/group/austin-ux-book-club (this has been overrun with spam and isn't moderated any more, most discussion happens on the IXDA group now)

The Facebook Group: http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=43317710317

No time to read? If you are interested in hearing about other types of UX activities in Austin, you can also join: http://ixdaaustin.ning.com/

Next Meeting

For our 6th meeting:

The Book Club will be taking a break in August.

Location:

projekt202, 908 E. 5th St. Suite 107, Austin, TX 78702

Next door to Progress Coffee, facing 5th St.

Questions? email me at tori.breitling AT gmail DOT com

Mission

The UX Book Club Austin seeks to enhance the abilities and knowledge of user experience professionals from information architects and interaction designers to visual designers and usability specialists to augment their understanding for excellence in UX practice, ixd design theory while building a passionate local community.

Subjects of interest to this club span design theory, design research and user experience research practices and processes. The books include the strategy and business of design, UX design theory and history, methodology, usability research, and the ethics of UX professionals, while networking and having some fun.

In this first year, we will read, review, and discuss approximately 8 books. Moderation and discussion lead will rotate throughout the group so that everyone eventually gets a chance to frame the conversation and contribute to group learning. I have taken the liberty of choosing the first book to jump start the group, but afterwards books will be chosen by some democratic mechanism based on group interest.

The Books

Books to Consider

  1. Design is the Problem, by Nathan Shedroff
  2. Ambient Findability, by Peter Morville
  3. Communicating Design, by Dan Brown
  4. The Design of Future Things: Author of The Design of Everyday Things, by Don Norman
  5. The Laws of Simplicity (Simplicity: Design, Technology, Business, Life), by John Maeda
  6. Thinking with Type: A Critical Guide for Designers, Writers, Editors, & Students, by Ellen Lupton
  7. Design Culture: An Anthology of Writing from the AIGA Journal of Graphic Design, by Steven Heller
  8. Designing Interfaces: Patterns for Effective Interaction Design, by Jenifer Tidwell
  9. Subject To Change: Creating Great Products & Services for an Uncertain World
  10. About Face 3: The Essentials of Interaction Design
  11. Making Meaning: How Successful Businesses Deliver Meaningful Customer Experiences (VOICES)
  12. Made to Stick: Why Some Ideas Survive and Others Die
  13. The Back of the Napkin: Solving Problems and Selling Ideas with Pictures
  14. Designing and Engineering Time: The psychology of time perception in software by Steven Seow
  15. The Paradox of Choice: Why more is less by Barry Schwartz
  16. The Elements of User Experience: Jesse James Garrett
  17. Don't Make Me Think: Steve Krug
  18. The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use it For Life by Twyla Tharp
  19. Unstuck by Keith Yamashita and Sandra Spataro

Interested in Joining?

Please note: while you are welcome to add your name to the list below, please join the google groups http://ixdaaustin.ning.com/ as well – that's the BEST way to make sure you don't miss anything. - thanks, Tori

Here is where you add your name and contact information to be part of the group. Please add your name in the AT DOT format to make it a bit harder for spammers to harvest your emails. - Tori

  • Shirley Allaway (sjallaway AT yahoo DOT com)
  • Bill Anderson (wlanderson AT gmail DOT com)
  • Sue Andre (sue.andre23 AT gmail DOT com)
  • Tricia Bayne (triciabayne AT gmail DOT com)
  • Scott Bellware (sbellware a la mail of g)
  • Alex Bilstein (abilstein AT gmail DOT com)
  • Ariel Comstock (ariel.comstock AT gmail DOT com)
  • Inge De Bleecker (inge.debleecker AT gmail DOT com)
  • Rachele DiTullio (@strontium87)
  • Maggie Duval (revrubyoswald AT gmail DOT com)
  • Kyra Edeker (kyra AT edeker DOT com)
  • Brian Friesen (bfriesen at visual hyphen image dot com)
  • Amy Gelfand (cycle_roundrock AT yahoo DOT com)
  • Renee Giroux (reneeagiroux at gmail dot com)
  • Michael Gomez (michael AT sevenploughs DOT com)
  • Mat Hamlin (mat AT mathamlin DOT com)
  • Johnny Harvey (justjohnny AT me DOT com)
  • Laura Hayden (laurah969 at gmail DOT com)
  • Blake Householder (blake8086 at gmail dot com)
  • Marie Hwang (marie.hwang at gmail DOT com)
  • Scott Isensee (isensee AT aol DOT com)
  • J.J. Jakubik (jj DOT jakubik AT gmail DOT com)
  • Alex Jones (alex AT silverspider. DOT com @BaldMan)
  • Rob Jones (rob at 2sidesdesignstudio DOT com)
  • Maria Joseph (mmjoseph at gmail DOT com)
  • Ryan Joy (atxryan AT gmail DOT com)
  • Vale Kelley (vkelley at threelakesmarketing.com)
  • John Koen (johnkoen AT gmail DOT com)
  • Jon Kolko (jkolko removeThis gmail)
  • Caroling Lee (carolinglee AT gmail DOT com
  • Melissa Lonchambon (melissa.lonchambon AT gmail DOT com)
  • Max Loukianov (mloukianov AT austin DOT rr DOT com)
  • Julie Lowe (uxbookclub AT jlowe.otherinbox DOT com)
  • Dimitri Lundquist (dimitri.lundquist AT gmail DOT com)
  • Jean Mandel (jeanmandel at gmail DOT com)
  • Brian Massey (brian at conversionscientist dot com)
  • Drew Mattke (drew at justdrew dot net)
  • Melissa Meingast (mmeingast at comcast DOT net)
  • Ben Menoza (bmenoza at gmail DOT com)
  • Jon Mick (jonmick AT gmail DOT com)
  • Vitorio Miliano (vmiliano AT optaros DOT com)
  • Katy Mueller (katymueller AT gmail DOT com)
  • MA Neff (MA AT picturetheworlds DOT com)
  • Annette Priest (anne_priest AT yahoo DOT com @annettepriest)
  • Jen Rawson (jenrawson AT gmail DOT com
  • Yolanda Repetto-Logan (yrepetto AT earthlink DOT net)
  • James Setaro (james.setaro at gmail DOT com)
  • Robin Silberling (rsilberling at gmail dot com)
  • Glenda Sims (glsims99 at gmail DOT com)
  • Erik Smartt (erik AT eriksmartt DOT com)
  • Sue Spencer (lilapaa AT gmail DOT com)
  • Megan Stevenson (stevenson.megan at gmail DOT com)
  • Christian Thilmany (christhi at microsoft.com)
  • Tim Thompson (timothompson AT gmail DOT com)
  • Hope Turner (hope dot turner at gmail dot com)
  • Cliff Tyllick (wigbert A T clear D O T net @clifftyll)
  • Theresa Veit (theresaveit at mac dot com)
  • Stephanie Walker (ennea999 AT gmail DOT com)
  • Kathryn Ward (kegward AT yahoo DOT com)
  • Russell Wilson (russ.wilson AT gmail DOT com)
  • Andrea Young (artgirly AT mac DOT com)
  • Erin Young (erinlynnyoung AT gmail DOT com @erinlynnyoung)
  • Samuel Yu (samuelyu at gmail DOT com)

Coordinator Contact Information

Tori Breitling | User Experience Architect

tori.breitling AT gmail DOT com

twitter: @tori

resume service

skype: toribreitling

 
austin.txt · Last modified: 2011/05/17 10:27 by 95.135.127.129
 
Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license:CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki