New York City

Welcome to the UXBookClub New York City Page.

Announcements

*Next event: October 14, 2010*

We'll be discussing: Content Strategy for the Web by Kristina Halvorson

//Content Strategy for the Web//

Date: Thursday, October 14, 2010 Time: 6:30pm - 9:00pm

*Next event: July 16, 2009*

We'll be discussing:

//Nudge// by Richard H. Thaler and Cass R. Sunstein (Yale University Press, 2008)

Date: Thursday, July 30, 2009 Time: 6:30pm - 9:30pm

Schedule:

6:30-7:00 Drinks and mingling

7:00-7:30 Group intros and discussion

7:30-9:00 Smaller group discussions (longer if it feels right)

9:00-9:30 Farewells and, for those interested, cleaning up and more drinking

(A small donation of $10 is requested to cover food and beverage costs. Thanks in advance for your participation. Next time around we will have a digital means of making this contribution. For now, it’s at the door.)

Hope to see you there!

March 9, 2009

Book Nominations: We want to know what you want to read! To leave book nominations, visit NYC Book Nominations.

Next Book Selection: Once we've had time to collect some more nominations, the planning committee will be creating a mechanism for voting. More on this soon…

Feedback Wanted: We also want to know how we can improve the way things are organized. If you have thoughts about the last club gathering, or ideas for the future, please visit NYC Feedback.

Flickr Pics! Just for fun, here are pictures from our last gathering: UX Book Club NYC: Flickr pics

Yes, we're still communicating through Facebook. If you haven't yet joined the Facebook group, please do so that we can use the group to facilitate communication and coordinate events. UX Book Club: NYC Facebook Group

Want to Volunteer? If you're interested in helping out with the Planning Committee, please email chastaincm AT gmail DOT com

Mission

The UX Book Club New York City seeks to bring together UX professionals of all stripes interested in focused discussion about books with the potential for making an impact on the way we think and work in our field. We’re also a social club, a salon-of-sorts interested in building community among like-minded folks hungry for ideas and good talk

We believe in the concept of sharing diverse perspectives as a way toward enhancing personal practice and promoting greater community understanding. No matter your role, the club will provide an opportunity to engage in conversation and learning amongst peers.

Books of interest to this club will span subjects within our field as well as those that bring concepts and ideas from other disciplines. UX subjects might include: the strategy and business of design, design theory and history, methodologies and process, experience research and the ethics of UX professionals.

The UX Book Club New York City also hopes to function as a collective, where members participate in the selection of books, moderation of discussions and the design of the evolving organization.

That said, if you’re interested in reading, good talk and, ultimately improving your understanding of our practices, learning about new ideas and equipping yourself with a lens to better foresee our future, please join us!

Books We've Read

Sketching User Experiences, Bill Buxton.

Sketching User Experiences

There is almost a fervor in the way that new products, with their rich and dynamic interfaces, are being released to the public—typi- cally promising to make lives easier, solve the most difficult of problems, and maybe even make the world a better place. The reality is that few of these products survive, much less deliver on their promise. The folly? An absence of design, and an over reliance on just technology and/or traditional practice. We need design. But design as described here depends on the skills of a number of different communities—each essential, but on their own, none sufficient. In this rich ecology, designers are faced with new challenges—challenges that build on, rather than replace, existing skills and practice. Sketching User Experiences approaches design and design thinking as something distinct that needs to be better understood— by both designers and the people with whom they need to work in order to achieve success with these new types of products and systems. So while the focus is on design, the approach is holistic. Hence, the book speaks to designers, usability specialists, people from HCI, product managers and business executives. There is an emphasis on balancing the back-end concern with usability and engineering excellence (getting the design right) with an up-front investment in sketching and ideation (getting the right design). Overall, the objective is building the notion of informed design, molding emerging technology into a form that serves our society and reflects its values. Grounded in both practice and scientific research, Bill Buxton’s engaging work aims to spark the imagination while encouraging the use of new techniques, breathing new life into user experience design.

Subject To Change: Creating Great Products & Services for an Uncertain World, Peter Merholz, Todd Wilkens, Brandon Schauer, David Verba.

To achieve success in today's ever-changing and unpredictable markets, competitive businesses need to rethink and reframe their strategies across the board. Instead of approaching new product development from the inside out, companies have to begin by looking at the process from the outside in, beginning with the customer experience. It's a new way of thinking-and working-that can transform companies struggling to adapt to today's environment into innovative, agile, and commercially successful organizations.

Companies must develop a new set of organizational competencies: qualitative customer research to better understand customer behaviors and motivations; an open design process to reframe possibilities and translate new ideas into great customer experiences; and agile technological implementation to quickly prototype ideas, getting them from the whiteboard out into the world where people can respond to them.

In “Subject to Change: Creating Great Products and Services for an Uncertain World,” Adaptive Path, a leading experience strategy and design company, demonstrates how successful businesses can-and should-use customer experiences to inform and shape the product development process, from start to finish.

Book Nominations

To leave book nominations, visit NYC Book Nominations.

Feedback

If you have thoughts about the last club gathering, or ideas for the future, please visit NYC Feedback.

Members

Please format as Name | space | username/at/domain.foo to make it a bit harder for spammers to harvest your emails.

  • Cindy Chastain (coordinator) chastaincm AT gmail DOT com
  • Chris Pallé chris.palle AT gmail
  • Noreen Whysel noreenwhysel AT hotmail DOT com
  • Fritz Désir fritz AT fluencyinc DOT com
  • Lisa Lurie llurie3 AT gmail DOT com
  • Jonathan Knoll jonathan AT infinityplusone DOT com
  • MJ Broadbent mj AT mjbroadbent DOT com
  • Nasir Barday nasir AT userlicious.com
  • Ray Shah ray AT thinkdesign DOT com
  • Whitney Hess whitney AT whitneyhess DOT com
  • Anders Ramsay andersr AT gmail DOT com
  • Jenn Coonce jenncoonce AT gmail DOT com
  • Shelley West shelley AT shelley-ann DOT com
  • Patty Fabricant pattyfab AT earthlink DOT net
  • Ray DeLaPena raydelapena AT gmail DOT com
  • Michael Angeles jibbajabba AT gmail DOT com
  • Sean Salmon seansalmon AT gmail DOT com
  • Tejas Shukla tejas AT ditindia DOT com
  • Lis Hubert ehubert22 AT gmail DOT com
  • Abigail Hart Gray abigail.hart.gray AT gmail DOT com
  • Christine Boese christine.boese AT gmail DOT com
  • Chris Sanchez chris.sanchez AT gmail DOT com
  • Dean Meyers dean AT deanmeyers DOT net
  • Marvin Mitchell marvinmitchell AT gmail DOT com
  • Ryan Harris ryandestroys AT gmail DOT com
  • Vincent Matyi vincent DOT matyi AT gmail DOT com
  • Michael Surtees michael AT michaelsurtees DOT com
  • Mandy Brown mandy AT aworkinglibrary DOT com
  • Matt Moore matt AT matthewmooredesign DOT com
  • Jeff Kirsch jeff AT jeffkirsch DOT com
  • Schöneck Shoaf schoneck AT gmail DOT com
  • Ayca Aksu ayca DOT aksu AT gmail DOT com
  • Cathy Galecki cgaleny AT gmail DOT com
  • Jenine Lurie jenine.lurie AT gmail DOT com
  • Eyal Nudelman eyal AT roundedsquare DOT com
  • Robert Moon nullobjects AT gmail dot com
  • Valentina Miosuro VMiosuro AT siegelgale DOT com
  • Sabrina Fonseca sabrina DOT fonseca AT rapp DOT com
  • Joshua Line josh DOT line AT gmail DOT com
  • Allison Walker alliwalk DOT gmail DOT com
  • Tom Bittner tkbittner AT alumni DOT stevens-tech DOT edu
  • Ariel Newland a AT arielnewland dot com
  • Amy Bassin amy AT composition dot com
  • Marcus Castenfors mcastenfors AT gmail dot com
  • Robert Gorell rgorell AT gmail dot com
  • Daniel Frydman danfrydman AT gmail dot com
  • Scott Noblit scottnoblit AT me dot com
  • Elena Melendy emelendy AT gmail DOT com
  • Jed McClure Jed AT jedmc DOT com
  • Luise Stromberg luisestromberg AT yahoo DOT com
  • Bryan Owens bryan AT bryanowens DOT net
  • Deborah Barber deborah AT hexadecibel DOT org
  • Pawel Tulin pawel AT soflin DOT com
  • Jayson Elliot jayson DDOTT elliot AAT wunderman DDOTT com
  • Greg Palmer jgpalmer AT gmail dot com
  • Chick Foxgrover cfoxgrover AT aaaa dot org
  • Kaori Ito kaori DOT ito AT gmail DOT com
  • Sushant Anand sushant DOT anand AT gmail DOT com
  • Jill Fruchter jillfruchter AT gmail DOT com
  • Una Walsh unawalsh AT emc DOT com
  • Marilyn DOT Tremaine AT gmail DOT com
  • Ross Popoff-Walker ross.spw AT gmail DOT com
  • Lauren Bugeja AT gmail DOT com
  • Nicole North AT live DOT com
  • Sam Perkins samp AT optonline DOT net
  • Lauren Baier AT gmail DOT com
 
new_york_city.txt · Last modified: 2011/05/26 17:26 by 70.60.82.246
 
Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license:CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki